A learning journey

I have recently been asked to do a few more adult portraits. I don’t have a studio, so if someone asks me, it is because they know we will be outside, come rain or shine, walking through woods, struggling through mud or fighting with the incoming tide. It takes a certain person to agree to this! For children it is of course great fun to run around the park, the beach, the trees etc, but not always for adults. However, i love it! And, I believe that you get some very natural shots when you are outside. It is as if, not being confined to a certain space, or have glaring lights in your eyes, eases you more readily into a feeling of comfort and security, helping you to trust your photographer.

It was a few weeks ago now that I was asked to take some photos of Paul, and at the same time, we decided to invite his stepson to come and take part and have his photos done too. It was such an enjoyable shoot. It was easy, fun and relaxing – at least for me! We went on a long walk through Hestercombe gardens, through the gardens themselves, into the woods, up and along the pathway. We sat in the old cubby holes and leant on posts, pillars and trees, and the results were pretty darn good. It is not difficult to take photos though when the subjects are as willing and as malleable as these two. My job was almost done for me, before we even started.

The brief was to take some shots of Paul for his profile photos. We wanted to bring out the creative side of him, the eco friendly side as well as the successful business man. I think and really hope, that we achieved this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As for Patrick… well, I haven’t really done any teen shots before, so I wanted to see how that would go. I thought it would be much harder than it actually was, but it really helped that Patrick was so easy going and handsome young chap, to boot. The shots were done at the same time as Paul’s shots, using the same trees and areas of Hestercombe as with Paul. Patrick is a musician, plays guitar really well, and I wanted to convey a sense of the teen idol, in his photos. Hopefully next time I will get to photograph him WITH his guitar.

One of the things I am learning so much about is seeing with my eyes, what my camera sees and how a shot will actually look when I get home. There is one particular shot of Patrick that I have included in the slideshow where his jumper is all ruffled and at the time, I didn’t actually see that. It is such a shame when you get a lovely shot and something like this changes the whole look and feel of it. I wish I had noticed and had him straighten his jumper before I started shooting. The great thing however is that we live and learn ! The other thing I learnt a lot about was light. the sun was glaring down at us for most of the day, and some of the shots were far too bright. I later learnt that I could have used my flash to deflect the light from the sun, but actually, a walk in the woods, the leaves, the trees and the shade they created, added to a much more atmospheric feel in some cases. That’s what I love about natural light photography. We use what the universe brings us.

It was a wonderful day, and I learn so much every time I go and turn on my camera. It is a great journey to be on and how amazing to have so many wonderful people come along for the ride.

xxx

Leave a Reply

