Babies

I know that technically it’s not friday, but blogging I am, nonetheless! I am so excited because I had the enormous pleasure of doing a baby photo shoot last week of not one, but TWO beautiful babies and I absolutely loved it and couldn’t wait to tell the world all about it.

It is a very strange feeling that you get from a baby shoot. I am not sure if it happens to everyone, but when I entered the room that the mummies were in with their babies, I felt such an amazing sense honour to be allowed into their little mummy worlds of sleeping, eating, drinking tea, breast feeding and some more sleeping and eating.

The shoot itself took 4 hours. I knew it would take a long time, as most of the time in between was spent drinking tea and breastfeeding the babies, trying to coach them into going to sleep. To be honest, neither baby was at all interested in sleeping, which was actually quite funny and absolutely to be expected. After all, why would you want to go to sleep when a mad woman was busy trying to take photographs of you?

I didn’t get as many photographs of the newborn as I would have liked to have been able to give the mother, but sometimes things don’t always work out the way we want them to. I hope to revisit Baby Benjamin sometime in the near future.

It was only in March that I did my first baby photo shoot and yet I cannot believe all the things I have learnt in terms of photography and getting a shot right – in fact it is never in terms of technicality for me, but more in terms of what I think will look nice and being a tad braver each time I do it, in order to get some of the shots that I perhaps would not have thought of getting before. There are quite a few pregnant ladies around at the moment, and I am really looking forward to doing some snaps of my friends’ babies as they start to arrive. It is such a wonderful gift to be able to give people and I do so wish I had had a decent camera when my little girl was born, or even had the inclination to have had some photos taken of her. Most of the ones I took were on my phone. I must try and dig them out and see what they are like.

I really do feel so grateful to be able to do this and to make this my career. Woop! ;o)

I present you – Baby Benjamin and Baby Harrison:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

