www.smugmug.com – a wonderful alternative to redbubble (sorry redbubble!)

So, my smugmug page is almost ready as well.. I have been spending forever it seems getting websites up and running, as well as a variety of social media things going. None of them are quite ready, as I keep discovering more and more as I continue my journey. I am really pleased with smugmug though, as I look forward to seeing how it really can be used to maybe sell some of my images – even if it is just my mother that ends up buying them! I really like smugmug as a photo sharing, photo selling platform. It is so easy to use – I used to use Redbubble but the uploading of individual photographs was just too painful, and smugmug is just so much easier to use. I suppose in a way I should still be using redbubble as well, but quite frankly I just didn’t have the patience for it. I have realised I am ridiculously impulsive when it comes to websites, web builders, aond other platforms, as I go jump head first in and design a new website, only to find out that it won’t do what I want it to do and then find it really difficult to leave. There have been so many situations like this that I have just not thought through; building your business and producing your own marketing strategy really is a challenge and an interesting journey to be on. 

I would highly recommend that you have a look at http://www.smugmug.com – I am sure I ahve a lot more to discover about smugmug, but so far so good and its worth spending a few hours having a look at. I have also discovered bliphoto.com, a daily photography journal, one photo a day… I am not sure i have the discipline for that and that most of my photos would end up being of either one cat and then the other. They have an iphone app which is great, but although they have made it really easy – and it’s a gorgeous looking site as well, very clean – it is going to be quite hard for me to keep up with it I think… time will tell – it would be great if I could. 

With that, I bid you goodnight. 

Cx 

This photo I have uploaded has nothing to do with my blog today – it is simply a photo I took last year and that I came across recently as I was playing around with Lightroom 4 – which I love to use! Its so easy and so much fun! Image 

Leave a Reply

